The German Dance Award in Live-Stream

Learn more about the program and purchase a ticket!

The German Dance Award is presented annually at a high-profile dance gala at the Aalto Theater. From classical ballet to dance theater and contemporary dance to urban dance - the Dance Gala presents dance in all its diversity. On the eve of the Dance Gala, the honorees take center stage in a separate event. Due to restrictions imposed by the Corona Crisis, the 2020 honoree event could only be held for invited guests.

This year, the Dance Gala will take place on October 23, 2021 and will be centered around the honoree Heide-Marie Härtel and the honorees Ursula Borrmann, Claire Cunningham and Adil Laraki.


Onegin (Spiegel-Pas-de-deux), Choreography: John Cranko, Music: Piotr I. Tschaikovsky, Cast: Kacerova, Roman Novitzky (Stuttgarter Ballett)

Movie: Claire Cunninghams Kunst, excerpts from the productions "Thank You Very Much", "The Way You Look (ar me) Tonight", "Give Me A Reason to Live Evolution"

Many a Moon, Choreography: Armen Hakobyan, Music: Ezio Bosso, Cast: Aalto Ballett Theater

Solo mit Sofa, Choreography: Reinhild Hoffmann, Music / Voice: John Cage, Empty Words (excerpts), Cast: Ksenia Ovsyanick (first principal dancer Staatsballett Berlin)

Écoute ... Chopin! (excerpts), Chroeography: Susanne Linke, Music: Frédérique Chopin, Prélude Nr. 24, Cast: Susanne Linke, A Prélude by Chopin as a thank you for Heide-Marie Härtel

Auftaucher (excerpts), Choreography: Henrietta Horn, Music: Fanfare pourpour, Fanfare Ciocarlia, Cast: 16 dancers, Folkwang dance studio and guests

(subject to change)